Breaking News

Reactions to the Kavanaugh nomination

In reaction to President Donald Trump’s nomination of Judge Brett Kavanaugh to the Supreme Court, politicians and interest groups are releasing statements. SCOTUS Watch is tracking “the public statements made by United States senators about how they plan to vote.” This post tracks the statements by interest groups that we have received. We invite you to alert us (nominationstatements [at] gmail [dot] com) to any statements we have missed.


In support of the nominee:

Alliance Defending Freedom (Michael Farris, president, CEO and general counsel)
American Energy Alliance (Thomas J. Pyle, president)
Americans United for Life (Catherine Glenn Foster, president and CEO)
Coalition for Jewish Values
Committee for Justice (Curt Levey, president)
First Liberty Institute (Kelly Shackelford, president, CEO and general counsel)
Gun Owners of America (Erich Pratt, executive director)
Heritage Action for America (Tim Chapman, executive director)
Institute for Free Speech (Bradley Smith, chairman and founder)
March for Life (Jeanne Mancini, president)
National Rifle Association of America, Institute for Legislative Action
Pacific Legal Foundation
Tea Party Patriots Action (Jenny Beth Martin, honorary chairman)
The Catholic Association


Against or concerned about the nominee:

American Federation of Teachers (Randi Weingarten, president)
Anti-Defamation League (Jonathan Greenblatt, CEO and national director)
Auburn Seminary
Bend the Arc: Jewish Action (Stosh Cotler, CEO)
Brady Campaign (Avery Gardiner, co-president)
Center for Reproductive Rights (Nancy Northup, president and CEO)
Demos (Chiraag Bains, director of legal strategies)
Everytown for Gun Safety (John Feinblatt, president)
Human Rights Campaign
Indivisible Project (Ezra Levin, co-executive director)
Lambda Legal
National Education Association (Lily Eskelsen García, president)
People for the American Way (Michael Keegan, president)
Democracy for America (Jim Dean, chair)
Freedom From Religion Foundation
League of Conservation Voters (Gene Karpinski, president)
Physicians for Reproductive Health (Willie Parker, board chair)
Sierra Club (Michael Brune, executive director)


Not taking a position yet:

Hispanic National Bar Association (Erica V. Mason, president)


Recommended Citation: Andrew Hamm, Reactions to the Kavanaugh nomination, SCOTUSblog (Jul. 9, 2018, 10:27 PM),