Breaking News

Reactions to the Gorsuch nomination

In reaction to President Donald Trump’s nomination of Judge Neil Gorsuch, politicians and interest groups are releasing statements. We’ve collected all of those we have received below, and will continue to update this post. We invite you to alert us ( to any statements we have missed.

In support of the nomination:

Alice Fisher
American Center for Law and Justice (Jay Sekulow, chief counsel)
American Energy Alliance (Thomas Pyle, president)
Americans for Limited Government (Rick Manning, president)
Americans United for Life (Clarke Forsythe, acting president)
Concerned Veterans for America (Mark Lucas, executive director)
Concerned Women for America (Penny Nance, president and CEO)
Jim Daly (Focus on the Family)
Eagle Forum (Eunie Smith, president)
Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention (Russell Moore, president)
Faith & Freedom Coalition (Ralph Reed, chairman)
Michael Farris (Alliance Defending Freedom)
Family Research Council (Tony Perkins, president)
First Liberty (Kelly Shackelford, president and CEO)
Generation Opportunity (Andrew Clark, executive director)
Gregory Garre
Heritage Action (Michael Needham, chief executive officer)
Hispanic Leadership Fund (Mario Lopez, president)
Judicial Crisis Network (compiles statements from Carrie Severino, Neal Katyal, Leonard Leo and others)
Judicial Watch (Tom Fitton, president)
Kellogg, Huber, Hansen, Todd, Evans & Figel, PLLC
Knights of Columbus
National Right to Life
Operation Rescue
Pacific Legal Foundation
Priests for Life (Frank Pavone, national director)
Public Interest Legal Foundation
Republican National Lawyers Association
Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.)
Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa)
Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-Utah)
Sen. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.)
Sen. John McCain (R-Ariz.)
Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.)
Sen. Tim Scott (R-S.C.)
Students for Life of America
Susan B. Anthony List
Tea Party Patriots (Jenny Beth Martin, president and co-founder)
White House Office of the Press Secretary

We are also grateful to David Feder for collecting the statements of 37 other senators in favor of the nomination.

Against the nomination: (May Boeve, executive director)
Advancing New Standards in Reproductive Health (Daniel Grossman, director)
Advocates for Youth (Debra Hauser, president)
Alliance for Justice (Nan Aron, president)
American Constitution Society (Caroline Fredrickson, president)
Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law
Center for American Progress (Neera Tanden, president and CEO)
Center for Biological Diversity
Center for Reproductive Rights (Nancy Northup, president and CEO)
Clean Water Action (Bob Wendelgass, president)
Constitutional Accountability Center (Elizabeth Wydra, president)
Constitutional Responsibility Project (Adam Hodge, spokesman)
Defenders of Wildlife (Jamie Rappaport Clark, president and CEO)
Demos (Heather McGhee, president)
Earthjustice (Trip Van Noppen, president)
End Citizens United (Tiffany Muller, executive director)
Everytown for Gun Safety (John Feinblatt, president)
Freedom for All Americans
Greenpeace (Annie Leonard, executive director)
Human Rights Campaign
Lambda Legal
LatinoJustice (Juan Cartagena, president and general counsel)
The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights (Wade Henderson, president and CEO)
League of Conservation Voters (Tiernan Sittenfeld, senior vice president of government affairs)
Mi Familia Vota (Ben Monterroso, executive director)
National Association of Social Workers
National Center for Lesbian Rights (Shannon Minter, legal director)
National Center for Transgender Equality (Mara Keisling, executive director)
National Council of Asian Pacific Americans (Christopher Kang, national director)
National Council of Jewish Women (Nancy Kaufman, CEO)
National Health Law Program
National Women’s Law Center (Marcia Greenberger and Nancy Duff Campbell, co-presidents)
New Mexico Environmental Law Center
NextGen Climate (Tom Steyer, president)
People for the American Way (Michael Keegan, president)
Physicians for Reproductive Health (Jodi Magee, president and CEO)
Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.)
Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio)
Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.)
Service Employees International Union (Mary Kay Henry, president)
Sierra Club (Michael Brune, executive director)

We’re also grateful to the Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights for compiling a list of organizations that either oppose the nomination or express concerns without taking a formal position on the nomination.


American Bar Association
Fix the Court

Judging the Environment links to more reactions from senators.

Recommended Citation: Andrew Hamm, Reactions to the Gorsuch nomination, SCOTUSblog (Jan. 31, 2017, 10:05 PM),