Breaking News

Republican Senators announce their votes on Sotomayor: Graham, Yes; Kyl, No

Earlier today, Sen. Lindsey Graham, R-S.C., announced on the Senate floor that he intends to vote in favor of Judge Sonia Sotomayor’s nomination for the Supreme Court, while Sen. Jon Kyl, R-Ariz., announced that he will vote against her nomination. Kyl talked to Jan Crawford Greenburg of ABC News’ Legalities blog about his decision here. Video of Sen. Graham’s remarks is available on C-SPAN here.

The Senate Judiciary committee has postponed a vote on Judge Sotomayor’s nomination until next Tuesday,  July 28.  Four Republican Senators who are not on the committee–Olympia Snowe and Susan Collins of Maine, Richard Lugar of Indiana and Mel Martinez of Florida — have announced they will vote for Sotomayor when a vote comes before the full Senate. Judge Sotomayor is expected to be confirmed before the Senate recesses in August and to be seated by the time Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission (08-205) is reargued before the Court (Sept. 9).