## Merits Cases By Vote Split

9-0 25 (50%)	8-1 5 (10%)	7-2 3 (6%)	6-3 6 (12%)	5-4 11 (22%)
Mt. Lemmon (8-0)	Jam (7-1)	BNSF Railway	Garza	Stokeling
Weyerhaeuser (8-0)	Frank (PC)	Lorenzo (6-2)	Moore (PC)	Madison (5-3)
Stitt	Harrison	Box (PC)	Air & Liquid	Preap
Emmons (PC)	Allina (7-1)		Biestek	Lamps Plus
Hill (PC)	Mission Prd.		Nieves	Bucklew
Culbertson			Return Mail	Apple
Schein				Cougar Den
New Prime (8-0)				Herrera
Helsinn				Hyatt
Timbs				Home Depot
Dawson				Mont
Rizo (PC)				

Past Terms							
	9-0	8-1	7-2	6-3	5-4		
OT10	46%	12%	15%	5%	20%		
OT11	45%	11%	8%	17%	20%		
OT12	49%	5%	9%	8%	29%		
OT13	66%	3%	10%	8%	14%		
OT14	41%	7%	12%	15%	26%		
OT15	48%	11%	20%	11%	5%		
OT16	59%	9%	17%	4%	10%		
OT17	39%	8%	15%	10%	26%		
Avg.	49%	8%	13%	10%	19%		

<sup>\*</sup> We treat cases with eight or fewer votes as if they were decided by the full court. For 8-0, 7-1 and 6-2 decisions, we simply assume that the nonparticipating justice would have joined the majority. In cases that are decided 5-3, we look at each case individually to decide whether it was more likely that the nonparticipating justice would join the majority or the dissent. Our assumption that nine justices voted in each case applies only to figures that treat each case as a whole, like the chart above, and not to figures that focus on the behavior of individual justices, like our Justice Agreement charts.

Nutraceutical
Fourth Est.
Rimini
Sturgeon
Merck
Thacker
Smith
Cochise
Fort Bend
Obduskey
Taggart
Quarles
Parker

<sup>\*\*</sup> For cases that are decided by a 5-4 vote, we provide information about whether the majority was made up of the most common conservative bloc (Roberts, Thomas, Alito, Gorsuch and Kavanaugh), the most liberal bloc (Ginsburg, Breyer, Sotomayor and Kagan) along with any of the more conservative justices, or a more uncommon alignment. A conservative lineup is marked with a red square, a liberal lineup is marked with a blue square, and all others are marked with a yellow square.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup>For per curiam opinions, we assume that all justices who do not publicly dissent voted with the majority.