Opinion Author Versus Vote Split

The chart below displays the number of majority opinions each Justice has written during this Term, excluding *Citizens United* (which Justice Kennedy authored), according to the size of the majority he or she captured. The unsigned, or *per curiam*, opinions are listed at the bottom, excluding *Briscoe v*. *Virginia, Weyhrauch v. United States*, and the opinions dismissing a case as improvidently granted (*Sullivan v. Florida* and *Robertson v. United States ex rel. Watson*).

Opinion Author	5-4	6-3 (or 5-3)	7-2	8-1 (or 7-1)	9-0 (or unan.)	Total
Roberts	1	3	0	2	1	7
Stevens	1	0	2	0	3	6
Scalia	2	0	2	0	4	8
Kennedy	2	3	0	0	2	7
Thomas	1	1	1	0	5	8
Ginsburg	0	0	1	1	6	8
Breyer	1	1	2	2	3	9
Alito	3	0	0	2	2	7
Sotomayor	0	1	2	1	4	8
Per Curiam	1	0	3	0	8	12

Separate Opinion Authorship

This chart shows each Justice's concurring opinions, concurring votes, dissenting opinions, and dissenting votes. Dissents and concurrences to all *per curiam* opinions are included, except when the main opinion dismissed the case as improvidently granted (so far, only *Robertson v. United States ex rel. Watson*). Chief Justice Roberts and Justice Breyer each wrote a concurrence in part and dissent in part in *Alabama v. North Carolina*; these are counted as dissents only in the chart below.

Opinion Author	Concurrences Authored	Total Concurring Votes	Dissents Authored	Total Dissenting Votes
Roberts	2	3	3	6
Stevens	10	14	12	20
Scalia	12	15	5	9
Kennedy	7	8	4	8
Thomas	12	17	4	13
Ginsburg	3	7	3	15
Breyer	2	4	6	17
Alito	9	9	6	9
Sotomayor	3	6	3	11