February 28, 2017

The Honorable Charles E. Grassley, Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 135 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein, Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 331 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Grassley and Ranking Member Feinstein:

We write to express our strong support for Judge Neil Gorsuch's nomination to be an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States. The undersigned are members of the Supreme Court bar with substantial experience before the Court. Collectively, we have argued more than 500 cases before the Court. Many of us, moreover, worked with Judge Gorsuch (or litigated against him) when he was in private practice; served alongside him in the Justice Department; or have appeared before him in the Court of Appeals. We hold a broad range of political, policy, and jurisprudential views. But we are unified in offering our support of Judge Gorsuch's nomination.

Fairminded, dedicated, smart, and unfailingly polite, Judge Gorsuch is someone all of us would be pleased to appear before. He is principled in his approach to the law, but also keenly aware of practical consequences. He is a thoroughly kind and decent person. Respectful of colleagues and counsel alike, Judge Gorsuch has the unusual combination of character, dedication, and intellect that would make him an asset to our Nation's highest court.

We hope this information will be of assistance to the Committee in its consideration of Judge Gorsuch's nomination. We thank you for your time and attention, and urge you to support his confirmation.

Very truly yours,

Lisa Blatt Richard P. Bress Michael A. Carvin John P. Elwood Roy Englert Miguel A. Estrada Mark Evans H. Bartow Farr, III David C. Frederick The Honorable Charles E. Grassley The Honorable Dianne Feinstein February 28, 2017 Page 2

Dan Himmelfarb William M. Jay Peter D. Keisler Michael K. Kellogg Jeffrey A. Lamken Christopher Landau Maureen E. Mahoney Ronald Mann Roman Martinez Deanne E. Maynard Matthew D. McGill Eric D. Miller Glen D. Nager Aaron M. Panner Mark A. Perry Carter G. Phillips Richard H. Seamon Stephen M. Shapiro Mark T. Stancil Kathleen M. Sullivan Amir C. Tayrani Christopher J. Wright